Session Based Test – Deep Coverage Session

The Deep Coverage Session is the fifth out of 6 types of session reports you can create when you use the Session Based Test approach. This report follows the Analysis Session report. The goal of the deep coverage sessions is to “find the bugs“. The bugs that prevents us to ship the application. These sessions are the reports of all the tests you have executed, the observation you have encountered. All the information you gather will give you an overview of the state of the application.
In this report, you describe the test(s) you have executed in detail. Detail can be different. It can be a small set of general actions you have executed. Detail like ‘I open the screen “Payments”. I select and account and fill in the payment details. I tapped on button “Send”. I signed the payment with my secret code. Payment is completed successfully’.
I can give more detail to this by e.g. writing is in Gherkin language
        Given I am on the screen “Dashboard”
        When I tap on tab “Payments”
            And I see the screen “Payments”
                And I enter “1.50” in the “amount field”
                And I enter “Simon Schrijver” in the “beneficiary field”
                And I enter “GB83VIRG0556009188″ in the “accountnumber field”
                And I enter “A Money Transfer” in the “description field”
                And I tap on button “Next in payment”
            And I see the screen “Overview”
                And I tap on button “Next”
            And I see the screen “Identification”
                And I enter “ETPIN” in the PIN5 field
                And I see a toast with the message “Your payment has been sent”
        Then my test has passed
This is a executed test, written in detail such, that it can be reused for other purposes. One purpose can be that it can be used for automation. Or it can be reused in a “pre-scripted work environment” where they (still) work with upfront predefined test scripts.
I also can write my test execution on interface level, i.e. look if I see all kinds of requests and responses of interface transactions. Just to see if a certain flow is okay by checking the parameters being sent with correct values.
See the three files in the attachment. Just some examples of how to set up a Deep Coverage Session report.
Note that the detailed information in the examples is just adding more context to this blog post.
Leave a Reply

