30 Days of Mobile Testing challenge – Day 6 to 10

This is my second blog in the 30 Days of Mobile Testing challenge (#30DaysOfMobileTesting), where I give more context to the 140 character tweets I posted.

Day 6 : “If you are an Android person, test something on iOS and vice-versa”

I test on both devices all the time. I see it as a required test approach. I used both type of devices as reference of each other. The feature must behave the same on both Android and iOS. If not, I go to the developers and discuss this with them. Some time ago, I blocked a release on the fact that the feature behaved differently between Android and iOS. The developers did not want to fix it and I escalated this to the Product Owner. The developers were asked check each others work on how they made the software. They found a common solution for both platforms.

Day 7 : “Share your favorite mobile testing tool”

My favorite mobile testing tool is ‘Asking questions’. I use it everywhere. But how to you define your questions? By using the tools every tester possesses. Every human being possesses. A brain, a set of eyes, hands and ears. When you formulated a question, you can ask it by …. using your mouth. These are the real tools for a tester, to test mobile apps and devices

Day 8 : “Write automated checks with a tool like Espresso, Calabash or Appium”

The tweet I sent was, ‘I don’t write automated checks. I create tests which can be automated by the automation team’.
The App we are building (and maintaining) is build by three teams. We have a fourth team which take care of all the automation work provided by the testers of the three teams. This automation environment is used for regression tests within the teams and to do continuous test on our CI/CD environment.

Day 9 : “Test a responsive web page with Chrome developer tools”

The tweet I sent was, ‘I tested the responsive web page with Chrome developer tools on a notebook, not on a mobile device’.
I first checked out if a Chrome web browser on a mobile also has the developer tools option. It is not there. I looked around on Google what other things are offered. I don’t see any added value to test the responsive web page with Chrome developer tools on a mobile, while testing it with a notebook. It will show the same information from functional point of view. You must test responsive web page with Chrome developer tools on a notebook.

Day 10 : “Perform an update test on an iOS or Android”

In Xcode, I drag the new release onto the device. The old version of the App is overwritten and the new version starts up. For Android it is just install the new release over the old release. Important is that your update tests prove that the new release does not affect all the settings of the App. If the update is such that databases adjustments are introduced, you have to register again on the App to get access.

Leave a Reply

