30 Days of Mobile Testing challenge – Day 1 to 5

I’m participating in the 30 Days of Mobile Testing challenge (#30DaysOfMobileTesting) organized by Daniel Knott. I decided to blog on this to share my experiences with the challenges provided to participants. This is the first blog in a series of 6, where I give more context to the 140 character tweets I posted.

Day 1 : “Take a photo of your mobile testing lab”

mymobileapptestenvironmentAs you can see in the picture, I have a few notebooks and a set of mobile devices. This is my core mobile test lab, as I work on two locations. I have to carry my stuff around. I sit in another location on Fridays. It also gives me the possibility to work at home when needed. Note that I can have access to more devices when needed. I just reserve them and take it with me. Our team has access to all kinds of devices, covering multiple vendors and operating systems.

Day 2 : “Use a proxy tool, e.g. CharlesProxy, to intercept the traffic between the App and the backend. E.g. check the calls for encryption and describe your findings”

I use CharlesProxy to intercept and/or manipulate data. It makes testing easier between my device and the backend. I did not check the encryption mentioned in the challenge, but for me it is important to monitor all the traffic between the device and backend when needed.

Day 3 : “Perform a mobile security test”

At this moment we introduce features to the App where we connect to the responsive web site of our application. To provide a good user experience, we created the Single Sign On (SSO) feature so the user can direct access its information on the responsive web site without logging in again.
The security test I did, is that I manipulated the URL provided for this SSO. I observed that the SSO request failed and I was prompted with a login page.

Day 4 : “Share a mobile testing blogpost with a mobile developer or designer”

I shared the blogpost ‘Use the Mobile Test Pyramid to Release Better Apps‘ with my team. It is about the mobile test pyramid that can help us to release better Apps. We are setting up a CI/CD environment where we want to see how and where we need and can set up automation. This to support our test work and contribute to the CI/CD environment.

Day 5 : “Use the Android Monkey in the Android SDK to send random commands to your android App and describe your findings”

I mention the following on Twitter: ‘I don’t use the Android Monkey in the SDK. I don’t test with emulators. I only test with real devices.’ What I try to explain is that I test with real devices and I tap on the devices myself. One test is that we want to see what happens when you quickly tap several times on the App. Sometimes we get the App crashing. This ‘Monkey’ option can be nice, but I like to do the ‘Monkey’ thing myself. Just to keep some structure what I’m doing.

Leave a Reply

